all i need are cats and words (=^・ω・^=)

unclogging the bathtub drain

I pulled a HUGE clump of my own hair from the bathtub drain today, and I'm glad I did. I have spent way too many days now ignoring the water pooling around my ankles as I shower, precisely because I wanted to avoid this little plumbing adventure.

It seems that I have to do this task every few months because I don't use any sort of hair catcher (although god knows I've put hours of research into the "best" hair catcher on sites like Amazon...). I am always amazed by the huge clump of dead soapy hair that I pull out with my trusty red plastic drain snake. It's so disgusting that I have lost that much hair, but what a miracle, I'm not bald yet. Seeing the soap scum entwined with the hairs almost made me want to hurl. But then I reminded myself that it's just hair and just soap and this whole process will be over before I know it, and the water will drain freely again.

I am also kind of obsessed with bar soap lately and that's not good for the bathtub drain, either, because it just leads to soap scum clog central. I had been using body wash for a while in order to avoid clogging the drain as often, but I guess it's my giant hairballs that are more of a problem? Plus, using bar soap is better for the environment and I just feel cleaner. I like feeling squeaky clean, a little dry, a little tight.

Unfortunately for my lazy self, I am heading to the gym soon. I never like going there, but once I'm in there, things go all right. It's the transitions in life (into and out of the shower, into and out of the house, etc.) that bother me the most, but the state of being and doing something steadily, that's okay.