all i need are cats and words (=^・ω・^=)

right round, baby

A sunny Saturday morning. My kitten is chasing sunbeams and my cellphone's light reflections around the living room. My older cat sprawls in a patch of sun and meticulously grooms her glossy brown fur. I am content with a bowl of oatmeal and coffee, which I have spooned two scoops of collagen into. Stronger nails, stronger hair, my hopes blooming. A scene I've seen many times before, but which leaves me feeling pleasant.

Today my friend is going to see the fireworks, but I'm not because I still feel residual tiredness from Covid. I don't want to face the crowds and have to take public transit in a crush of bodies. So, there's always next year for fireworks. I felt so tired all week and have barely moved or extended myself more than I needed to. But if it's true that we're supposed to listen to our bodies, mine was begging for me to stayed glued right to my couch, so I have. I've been watched this Kdrama called "Flower of Evil" and it's a good time. The basic premise is that there is a husband-wife duo, and while she is a cop, he might be a serial killer! The leads' chemistry is great and the show is more of a romance than a thriller, although it does definitely have crime and action. I fell asleep watching last night's episode (11) even though I clearly remember being super into it, but that goes to show you just how much my body needs rest. I might go to the gym or for a little run today, but we'll see. The day tends to melt away from me. I love Saturdays, they are my favourite day. Even when I was unemployed and "every day was Saturday", the real deal still feels extra sweet.

I also borrowed a stack of books from the library and am valiantly attempting to read them. When I was a kid and a teenager, I could devour words like no other. I read at the breakfast table and even walking to school, which amazes me looking back on it. Now I see everyone doing something similar in public, but it's their phone in their hand, not a book. Unless they're reading ebooks, which I doubt most of them are. I would love to be super rich so I could just read and read and read all day long. I guess I've always been an escapist, and "real life" has never had that much appeal for me. But people say to go touch grass or whatever. Okay, I get that. But there's nothing like the grass in books, ya feel me? I've touched the most magical grass out there!

I must say that I quite like bearblog. I like reading everyone's thoughts and essays and experiences with writing. I am one of those who misses the "old internet" when everything wasn't so commercialized, and you could actually find people's blogs instead of the front page of Google being sponsored by corporate ads and algorithms. I don't think we're ever going to get the fun and joy of the old internet back, so these microsites like bearblog and neocities are super meaningful and I'm glad they exist. I hope I'm able to hang around here for a long time instead of disappearing like I always do.